When Should PLD Tank?

Eorzea Time

Language: JP EN FR DE
Version 3.1
New Items
users online
Forum » FFXI » Jobs » Paladin » When should PLD tank?
When should PLD tank?
First Page 2 3
 Fenrir.Yuriki
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Yuriki
By Fenrir.Yuriki 2012-01-06 08:43:07
Link | Quote | Reply

I'm a DNC main. My DNC is well geared with 90 Twash but for a while I've been gearing out my PLD for use in "harder" events, such as Logwatch and, hopefully, upcoming content like Last Stand. My PLD has capped haste, MDT, pretty decent PDT, decent WS, capped skills, etc... I'm currently working on an Ochain (need 49 more CS for second stage) and Almace (will start after Ochain), so for now I'm using Honorbound and Seigneur shield.

Now I'm fairly new to VW but I do have fanatics/fools temps, a few others, and I know how the general flow of battle works. My question is, what fights am I going to want to bring PLD instead of DNC? I'm looking to compare taking into account if my PLD has or hasn't finished Ochain/Almace. Meaning, "DNC is better on this NM if your PLD has no o/a but PLD is better with o/a."

My question arises because I've noticed that all of the VWNM that I've done recently (Qilin being the "hardest") DNC has been tanking instead of PLD. Perhaps the brand new VWNM are a hell of a lot harder but I just didn't see the need for a PLD. I really WANT to use PLD for something (a different change of pace, etc...) but I'm also all about optimising what I can for the situation at hand.

From what I've seen, you're always able to ride fanatics or fools pretty much 100%. For DNC I can swap to 50% MDT (with Shell, of course) during nukes when wearing fanatics and can pop Fan Dance during nasty TP moves if using fools, although if those spells/TP moves were so bad in the first place you'd probably be using the drink that nullifies them instead. My LS also has a 90 Daurdabla BRD so I'd be able to have x2 march and scherzo.