All For One, And More For Me: A Guide To Red Mage

Eorzea Time

Language: JP EN FR DE
Version 3.1
New Items
users online
Forum » FFXI » Jobs » Red Mage » All for One, and More for Me: A Guide to Red Mage
All for One, and More for Me: A Guide to Red Mage
First Page 2 3 ... 12 13 14 ... 28 29 30
 Leviathan.Protey
Server: Leviathan
Game: FFXI
user: Protey
By Leviathan.Protey 2015-09-28 00:23:59
Link | Quote | Reply

Asura.Saevel said: »
Asura.Blittzjr said: »
So what does brutal do for cdc. Im new to this

Brutal is a 5% chance to proc an additional hit. CDC's fTP transfers to all additional hits, so instead of the usual 1.0 multiplier a DA would get the full 2.45. A weaponskill will roll two DA checks if it hasn't already proced a QA / TA and then afterward check for mythics OaT.

My guess is protey thinks that since the mythic can proc OaT on WS and that he has a bunch of DA / TA, that brutals +5% will have a minimal impact. While that's true, WSD +2% on the first hit will have an even smaller impact since it's only being applied to the first hit and CDC gets all it's power from the additional hits. This is in contrast to WS's like Savage Blade, Death blossom or Expacion which get a lot of power on that first hit.

I have a Mythic on my BLU which itself has a ridiculous amount of Multi-Attack and I would still use Brutal + Moonshade on CDC.

Basically with 40% TA plus 20% TA/40% DA aftermath, all without Brutal, the probability of Brutal contributing any extra damage is extremely minimal. I would rather have the 100% guarantee of 2% WSD on the first hit. The damage over 1,000 WSs should prove in favor of 2% WSD, but someone with better maths than me would have to prove it.
 Bahamut.Foreverj
Server: Bahamut
user: Foreverj
By Bahamut.Foreverj 2015-09-28 06:58:29
Link | Quote | Reply

Can anyone post their most recent melee tp and cdc set? I saw a set in page 9 but not sure if that's most updated. Thanks
 Asura.Blittzjr
Server: Asura
user: tripletee