Forum » Everything Else » Arcade » Design Outside the Box
Design Outside the Box
 Seraph.Caiyuo
Server: Seraph
Game: FFXI
user: Caiyuo
By Seraph.Caiyuo 2010-02-21 22:16:50
Link | Quote | Reply

*** PopCap games, lol My Mom and Aunt play Bejeweled Twist like it's going out of style.

Carbuncle.Sevourn said:
I have to wonder if the rise of MMOs has had a negative impact on non-online titles.

I started playing ffxi about a year ago. Since then, I've bought a grand total of one non-ffxi related game. When i'm spending time levelling on a game that isn't ffxi, i just end up feeling like i should be levelling my "real" character.

Of course, my experience probably isn't the norm.
Not sure if it's the norm or not, but my console-based gaming crashed sharply after I was about 6 months into XI and never really picked back up until I started playing XI really casually or not at all. Furthermore, despite buying RPGs because I love them, I find most of my console gaming is based around action, adventure, platform and FPS.
 Hades.Triet
Server: Hades
user: Sirseiko
By Hades.Triet 2010-02-22 00:34:56
Link | Quote | Reply

This is completely ridiculous (imo). I mean it kinda scares me because I am currently starting a BA in Game&Simulation Programming and I mean I know I've got a little job security, because the more technology/machines that are invented will mean a higher demand for programmers yatta-yatta-yatta...but I really wanted to get into the hardcore game design stuff, but after reading all this junk, and watching the videos, (I am disgusted at EA) people seem to be easily appealed to games that it only takes a couple seconds to dive into versus the process of waiting for a game, driving to the store, buying it, bringing it home, putting it in the system, setting up necessary controls/visuals/sound, and finally enjoying the game. (Society is so fkin lazy nowadays its stupid)