Forum » FFXI » Jobs » Summoner » Some SMN questions
Some SMN questions
 Carbuncle.Zanno
Server: Carbuncle
Game: FFXI
user: zanno
By Carbuncle.Zanno 2010-01-30 12:51:33
Link | Quote | Reply

I'm getting to the point where its time to get SMN AF, but loking at the stats on it and comparing to the Austere set, I'm asking myself is it worth the hassle to even get the AF?

SMN AF:

Austere set:

I mean with AF you get 47 more MP, 5 less summuning skill, Avatar enmity -11, and no Avatar Perpetuation Cost -. While Austere set not only gives "Blood Pact" Ability Delay -6 but also Enmity -3 (For the summoner rather than the avatar).

I'm no SMN pro, not even close. but just looking at the stats it seems to me that the Austere set is better than the AF in every way except for the 47 mp, which i can live w/o.

Now I'm only taking SMN to 66 so i can fight maat on it, but im not gonna do as some ppl and not try to do the job right. But im also not gonna gather semi-useless AF so i can upgrade it in the future, coz thats not gonna happen anyway.

Also, when it comes to macro's.

I'm using all 10 books in my smn macro. first book is for summoning all avatars, and each avatar takes me to a book of their own, where the hell am i gonna keep my healing macro's? Since it seems I'm mostly invited to heal parties when they cant find any whm/rdm/sch. I dont wanna put myself in "cure bot mode", i did that on whm, so even when im main healing i would like to use my avatars every now and then.

Should I just stay in my "WHM macro" and summon BP manually from the menu? Or stay in SMN macro and cure manually from menu?

Any other advice on what to think of when it comes to smn is welcome as well ^^
[+]
 Ramuh.Gengus
Server: Ramuh
user: Humpy
By Ramuh.Gengus 2010-01-30 12:59:36
Link | Quote | Reply

I would recomend at least getting (and using) the AF legs. They aren't "bad" to use in a pt and are very nice for when you are soloing while looking for a party.
[+]
 Ragnarok.Runfrior