PC Crash When I Run Game

Eorzea Time
 
 
 
Language: JP EN FR DE
Version 3.1
New Items
362 users online
Forum » Everything Else » Tech Support » PC crash when i run game
PC crash when i run game
 Asura.Seizan
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Seiza
Posts: 58
By Asura.Seizan 2020-03-21 09:24:29
Link | Quote | Reply
 
just build a new pc like one day ago, basikly all that is on it atm is; FFXI,windower, windows 10 and a couple of benshmark programs. everything works fine with all kinda testing with gpu/cpu benching, but when i run FFXI the PC crashes after a period of 5~20min . . .

Anyone experienced this or have any clue what this can be?
Offline
By Shichishito 2020-03-21 09:46:18
Link | Quote | Reply
 
what type of crash? crash to desktop? bluescreen? ffxi freezes? whole pc freezes and you have to push reset?

also what does your windows 10 reliability history say?
 Asura.Wormfeeder
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
Posts: 368
By Asura.Wormfeeder 2020-03-21 09:48:39
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Update your video card drivers. Also check to see if there is an update for your motherboards chipset.
If you can, list your computers components.
 Asura.Seizan
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Seiza
Posts: 58
By Asura.Seizan 2020-03-21 09:52:14
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Shichishito said: »
what type of crash? crash to desktop? bluescreen? ffxi freezes? whole pc freezes and you have to push reset?

also what does your windows 10 reliability history say?

No freez, bluescreen or something like that. The crash is just as i should have pressed the reset button.



Asura.Wormfeeder said: »
Update your video card drivers. Also check to see if there is an update for your motherboards chipset.
If you can list your computers components.

All drivers, chipset etc are up to date.
Offline
By Shichishito 2020-03-21 10:09:11
Link | Quote | Reply
 
if you only got the crash with FFXI i suggest you play the addon game. start of with testing vanilla for a time frame you'd expect a crash, if it's stable run windower without plugins/addons. or the other way around and run your usuall setup without the suspected addons/plugins.

also check your windows 10 reliability history, maybe it has some clues.
 Asura.Seizan
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Seiza
Posts: 58
By Asura.Seizan 2020-03-21 10:19:44
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Shichishito said: »
if you only got the crash with FFXI i suggest you play the addon game.

Yeah what i was thinkin too, but wanted to hear if some ppl knew something bout this cause the addon game is a long and tiresome thing to do, lol.

Thx for replys so far^^
 Valefor.Prothescar
Guide Master
Offline
Server: Valefor
Game: FFXI
Posts: 16272
By Valefor.Prothescar 2020-03-21 11:08:04
Link | Quote | Reply
 
You're absolutely sure that FFXI is the only thing that's affected? No benchmarks or other games have the same problem? The PC functions fine under load unless it's FFXI?

The issue you're describing is generally a hardware failure which could come from a wide range of sources, most commonly a failing hard drive or failing/unstable gpu/cpu/ram.
 Asura.Seizan
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Seiza
Posts: 58
By Asura.Seizan 2020-03-23 06:03:04
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I ended up deleting all windower and did a new fresh download of it. Weird but that solved the issue, no more crashes lol.

Ty all for replys^^
Offline
Posts: 5
By hestermofet 2020-03-23 12:09:20
Link | Quote | Reply
 
delete system32
 Asura.Wormfeeder
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
Posts: 368
By Asura.Wormfeeder 2020-03-23 15:10:15
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Valefor.Prothescar said: »
You're absolutely sure that FFXI is the only thing that's affected? No benchmarks or other games have the same problem? The PC functions fine under load unless it's FFXI?

The issue you're describing is generally a hardware failure which could come from a wide range of sources, most commonly a failing hard drive or failing/unstable gpu/cpu/ram.

FAULTY POWER SUPPLY!!!
 Asura.Seizan
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Seiza
Posts: 58
By Asura.Seizan 2020-03-23 17:24:19
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Asura.Wormfeeder said: »
FAULTY POWER SUPPLY!!!

Haha that is not often a thing!
well it happened to me once, made a new custom liquid cooling on cpu/gpu, then wanted to let it run overnite the get all ear out before i closed it. waked up in middle of the night to a "poooff!"
apparently it was a leak, directly down and into the psu! LOL